Miss World 2008 Online telecast

Another year has gone by, and another Miss World pageant is about to end. It has been such an incredible ride since the contest started last November 16th. This is my 9th year covering the Miss World contest -I started in 2000 when it was held at the Millenium Dome in London- and each time is more exciting.

There are so many beautiful women this year it’s incredible. People ask me to come up with my final top 10 list… It’s really really difficult.

I want to dedicate my post not to those contestants who have placed in every fast track, or those who are the most favored by the bookies; I want to dedicate it to all the 109 contestants taking part in the event.

I am sure that most of them never thought they would visit Africa. Such a magnificent country as South Africa, taking part in Safaris, galas, tours and meeting so many new friends from all over the planet.  The experience in itself is very rewarding, but it is my advice to make the most out of it.

Sometimes it’s really hard to enjoy these experiences. They are, after all, competitions. But you win a lot, specially if you know how to make the most of it. Some contestants are really affected by the pressure, and it gets worse if they have psychotic trainers who have to win at all costs to satisfy their egos (believe me I have seen those!)

The world of the internet has really revolutioned the way we see beauty pageants. Nowadays, we get first hand information about everything; contestants post their personal photos online and of course,  the “colorful” beauty pageant forums with the endless fighting, name-calling and arguing about who is right and who is not; fans insulting each other because they refuse to like Miss Nauru or because they don’t think Miss Sandwich Islands will reach the finals.

I am already looking forward to the telecast. The performances by Alesha Dixon and McFly, the jamaican outfits, the African dancers, but mostly to see the endless parade of beautiful women with loooong legs. And I wonder… because sometimes you think you know who will win, but in the end you are surprised.

Who will join Zi Lin, Tatana, Unnur, Maju, Rosanna, Azra, Agbani, Priyanka, Yukta, etc. etc. in the Miss World Hall of Fame? I have tried to visualize a winner, it’s hard.  I will sit and relax on December 13th and watch this contest on TV like it was the first time in my life that I see these girls.  I think everybody else should do that.

And then, that moment of the year, where we all get worked up with anxiety and expectation:  The famous sentence that has been read consecutively for the past 57 years: “And now, I will announce the results in reverse order….”

Good luck to everyone involved in the contest!

Watch the pageant live online here.  Courtesy of Zee Cafe.

December 13, 2008 – 7:00 P.M. -Dubai Time

December 14, 2008 – 1:00 A.M. – Philippine time 

2 Comments

  1. Louger said,

    December 13, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    its excellent

  2. sandy said,

    May 15, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    TV Sabores provides both pre-recorded and live Internet television to be freely viewed across the Internet.


Leave a Reply

