www.bengwic.com turns 4

It started us a hobby and I can’t believe that I am already doing it for 4 years now.

IT'S A CAKE!

IT'S A CAKE!

Even if www.bengwic.com is not the much hyped website in the universe, it is definitely the coolest space for all classified bitches . It really seems like yesterday! I am amazed how much it has grown. Time flies by when you are having fun as I am trying to make the site as fruitful as much possible. More juicy…..more interactive.

It has been a major step to update every content of the site and hooking up with the world’s best softwares to fuel its engine. The past few weeks have just been a little hectic so I am trying to catch up before I fall behind.

I would like to thank everyone who has become part of its growth. Traffic has grown almost entirely from word of mouth, especially from other bloggers linking to the content to share it with their own visitors. Here I saw the 80-20 rule at work, where roughly 20% of the posts would generate 80% of the links (and traffic). In some months the pattern was more like 5-95. Social bookmarking sites like friendster, multiply and facebook send thousands of new visitors here every month. Sometimes it surprises me which posts strike a chord with people.

Search engine traffic is only about 2% of total site traffic and has never been a major factor. Partly this is because there aren’t many specific search terms in the field of personal growth that generate a large volume of searches on search engines — everyone is searching for something different. It’s really the long tail of thousands of different low-volume search terms that send people to this site vs. any handful of specific high-volume terms.

There were a couple nice breaks along the way, like getting links from several high-traffic blogs. Throw enough darts at the dart board, and every now and then you hit a bullseye.

I’m happy to see that people are finding value in this site’s content. This site is all supposed to be for the purpose of sharing views and opinions. But it has reached more than that. And for that I’m very grateful.

Most of all I’m grateful for how much working on this site has fueled my own growth. I’ve been writing articles lately and I am so proud to announce that soon, and hopeful to have it shortly, I will be unofficially publishing my first book which I am planning to launch early next year. Duh! Print-out cost sucks…I will be giving it to chosen friends only. At least, if I die now…there will be something memorable to leave them. One thing I am sure of, I need a proof reader.

The volume of feedback has been overwhelming and I am very much willing to settle with it as a part time career.  I wish I had the capacity to respond to every responses personally, but I was at least able to read them all.

I think the biggest challenge for me over the past year has been achieving the right balance between giving and receiving and between work and rest. I’ve tended to err on the giving/working side, sometimes pushing myself to the point where I’d have to take a few days off to recharge my energy. This type of work is very fulfilling, but it can also be energetically draining. My physical and mental energy is great — it’s my emotional (or spiritual) energy that been rollercoastering.

Sometimes I feel as if there’s so much energy coming at me (both positive and negative) that I need to deflect some of it (even the positive stuff). Otherwise I begin to feel overloaded with other people’s energy and ideas. Meditation and exercise help a lot, but I think I’d be more effective and balanced if I could keep myself from absorbing so much of other people’s energy in the first place. Given the rapid expansion phase I’ve been through this past year, I feel I need to contract a little to refresh and refocus. Right now I have that “I could really use a vacation” feeling.

So as we move into the next year, my goal is to maintain a better balance and take more time to relax and recharge — to enjoy a bit more being and a little less doing.

One aim: To be of service to everyone.

Am i being too formal?

Nah….it’s 4th year baby. So, if you are planning to waste more of your time then keep visiting www.bengwic.com

Thanks everyone.

B here.

 

Leave a Reply

