Francis Magalona passes away at 44

MANILA, Philippines—(UPDATE) Rapper-TV host Francis Magalona died of leukemia Friday at the Medical City in Mandaluyong, his co-hosts at the GMA Network’s noontime show “Eat Bulaga” said. He was 44.

Magalona is the son of popular 1950s movie tandem Pancho Magalona and Tita Duran.

“I don’t want a media circus. I want privacy with my family,” Francis said in a phone interview with the Philippine Daily Inquirer, after reports of his illness broke out.

“What I’d rather talk about is how to we can solicit blood donations to replace the supply that I have consumed in the hospital,” said Magalona, the father of eight children.

Francis’ wife, Pia Arroyo-Magalona, said her husband started exhibiting symptoms in March this year. “It was very gradual, hindi siya biglaang lumabas [it didn’t manifest right away”. by: inquirer .net

1 Comment

  1. March 7, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    I have taken my family last night March 6, 2009 at the 1st night of Kiko’s wake. I am sure that there would be a bigger crowd today. We were there and we saw Pia and her kids and quite a few friends. Amidst this, I know that they will remain to be in good hands though. Francis Magalona left them not just a legacy but a support base as huge as the entire nation.

    I saw THE FREE MAN himself and somehow I know he passed away happy. I saw it in his face. He must have gotten thin and quite darker but one can still see a FIGHTER in his face. I have had several encounter with him in the past through his gigs and some mall tours which I have seen in an impromptu instance.

    Amidst all, last night was the first time I had the chance to get so close to him like almost touching him. Unfortunately, he has left already and I cannot even tell him how thankful I am for all his contributions to us as youth then.

    I do hope that somehow all his life’s works and achievements will be continued. At the very last, he never surrendered both in his illness and with his advocacy for unity. He will always be remembered. He may have died but he will always be alive in our hears, mind and in the books of this nation.

    Thanks Francis Michael D. Magalona, Jr.!


Leave a Reply

